A partial archive of discourse.wicg.io as of Saturday February 24, 2024.

[Proposal] Ownership of content

amitavmohanty01
2016-11-13

I have a proposition about the ownership of content and some use cases where this can be relevant. I am not very sure whether it should be an HTML element or a CSS property. I would like your advice on it. Also, I am new to this and if this is not the correct procedure, please guide me in the right direction.

Objective: Various content in a web page should be allowed to be tagged as one of the following.

• first party content: typically content that the owner of the web page created or owns
  • second party content: content like comments and other user interactions where the client(s) created the content
  • third party content: typically ads, search bar powered by some search engine, embedded maps, recommendations, etc fall into this category

The above classification can be used in creating views in browsers: for example reader view can be made more focused by selecting only first party content. The user can have better control over whether to allow third part content or not.

I understand that web sites owners can easily violate this intention by showing ads in first party content section. So, this more or less operates in good faith that web sites will tag data appropriately.

Possible implementations:

1. as HTML elements
This is my content This is a commented by my reader
  1. as properties
This is my content
This is a commented by my reader

I hope I am not talking complete rubbish. I welcome your feedback.

jhpratt
2016-11-13

So, this more or less operates in good faith that web sites will tag data appropriately.

And this is where the flaw lies in my opinion. Many sites rely on ad income, and would have great incentive to declare it “first party” content.

mkay581
2016-11-14

I agree with @jhpratt on this. Relying on developers to classify things appropriately shouldn’t be relied upon. I do really like this idea though.