A partial archive of discourse.wicg.io as of Saturday February 24, 2024.

Proposal: Metrics for web page abandonment

anniesullie
2020-02-13

Currently, when users navigate away from a page before loading metrics like first contentful paint fire, the page’s analytics may not be loaded yet, and so the abandoned page load is not counted in the site’s analytics. This means client-side analytics, which many sites rely on, are blind to abandoned navigations that do not get to a point where the analytics script is able to execute and beacon a successful page hit.

This is a proposal for new APIs to close that gap.

P_Perl
2020-02-14

My first thoughts for the possible overlap with the NEL API and the brief discussion on the proposal document.

Definition

Reading the NEL spec, as an engineer myself working on the whole stack of an application, I felt that it goes more into the technical/monitoring side of things, which certainly with some work, it can provide more high level insights, similar in nature to those we aim for. But still it resonates more with my development side and not the experience side, as it also never mentions the “user” abandoning the page. I see it as a more low-level capability for multiple use cases e.g. the subresource case (widget) which is mentioned in the NEL spec. To be honest I see NEL as massively useful and I foresee that the implementation will be mostly done on the framework world, e.g. libraries that add this to Express.js etc.