A partial archive of discourse.wicg.io as of Saturday February 24, 2024.

CSS Plain-Text Conversion

stuartpb
2015-07-27

Continuing the discussion from Standardizing innerText:

Okay, so looking directly at this table, I think rather than trying to invent a parallel logic that sorta-kinda-interacts with some of CSS sometimes, Plain-Text Conversion should start from the CSS style/layout/selector engine browsers are already using for rich content (because, essentially, how an element should be converted to text is as much a property of its “style” as its margins or font are). Here are some of my thoughts around the process for doing that (note that I’m not really a CSS lawyer so some of this might be a little muddled):

• Hidden elements MUST NOT be included in the plain text. This includes elements hidden with display: none as well as visibility: hidden.
    • visibility: hidden may be replaced by a space-equivalent empty element - I’m not really familiar enough with HTML spec behavior to dictate the transformation yet.
  • Anonymous boxes MUST be treated the same as non-anonymous boxes.
  • Within an inline content block, whitespace should be collapsed/preserved according to the white-space CSS rule, after applying the text insertions defined below.

The remaining differences are handled by plaintext CSS rules dictating the transformation of the HTML content into plain text.

Many of the plaintext rules specify what text to insert before, after, or between each type of display with known values (between values are only applied between two sibling elements of the same display type, after any before value and before any after value):

• plaintext-after-table-caption, plaintext-after-block, plaintext-between-block: Defaults to "\n".
  • plaintext-between-inline: Defaults to " ".
  • plaintext-between-table-cell: Defaults to "\t".

Other values maybe be defined but are all defaulted to "".

Also: